Professor Terry Nolan AO

Terry Nolan is Redmond Barry Distinguished Professor at the Doherty Institute for Infection and Immunity, University of Melbourne, where he leads the Vaccine and Immunisation Research Group (VIRGo), a collaboration between Murdoch Children’s Research Institute and the University. He trained in medicine at University of Western Australia, in paediatrics at Royal Children’s Hospital Melbourne and Montréal Children’s Hospital, and did a PhD in epidemiology at McGill University. His research has been predominantly in vaccine preventable disease, including epidemiologic studies and clinical trials of new vaccines in children and adults, including for pandemic H5 and H1 influenza. He is a former chair of the Australian Technical Advisory Group on Immunisation (ATAGI), and was a member of the WHO SAGE for 6 years until 2019.

Professor Andrew Davidson

Professor Davidson trained as a Paediatric Anaesthetists in Melbourne, Rotterdam, Nottingham and Boston. He has an MD and a diploma in biostatistics from the University of Melbourne. He is a fellow of the Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists and the Australian Academy of Health and Medical Science. He is Medical Director of the Melbourne Children’s Trials Centre, a Senior Staff Anaesthetist at the Royal Children’s Hospital and a Professorial Fellow at the University of Melbourne. He is Chair of the Melbourne Academic Centre for Health Committee for Clinical Trials. He is chair of the executive for both the Paediatric Trials Centres of Australia and the Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists Clinical Trails Network.

Associate Professor Nick Wood

Is a staff specialist paediatrician at Sydney Childrens Hospitals Network.  He is the Associate Director, Clinical Research and Services at the National Centre for Immunisation Research and Surveillance (NCIRS).  He holds an NHMRC career development fellowship and is an Associate Professor in the Children’s Hospital at Westmead Clinical School at the University of Sydney.  He is the academic lead of the Waratah Vaccine Trials Network.



Professor Tony Cunningham AO

Stepped down as Executive Director of The Westmead Institute for Medical Research after 23 years (1996 – 2019) and now continues as Director of the Institute’s Centre for Virus Research and Professor, Faculty of Medicine and Health in the University of Sydney.  He is also Director of the Australian Centre for HIV and Hepatitis Virology Research (ACH2), funded directly by the Australian Government, as well as the NSW/ACT State Branch Chair, The Australian Academy of Health and Medical Sciences.

He is a clinician scientist who trained in infectious diseases and virology research at the University of Melbourne and as a postdoctoral fellow in infectious diseases at Stanford University. His longstanding research is in Herpesvirus and HIV immunology relevant to vaccine development, culminating in lead international roles in the pivotal trials of a vaccine candidate for Herpes simplex and a highly efficacious vaccine for Herpes zoster. He is currently investigating the mechanism of action of adjuvants to counteract declining immunity and vaccine efficacy in the ageing.

Professor Geoff McColl

Professor Geoff McColl is the Executive Dean of the Faculty of Medicine at the University of Queensland.  Prior to joining UQ, Geoff was the Head of the Melbourne Medical School at the University of Melbourne, where he led the development and implementation of the Melbourne MD. 

Geoff completed his undergraduate medical training at the University of Melbourne and attained his FRACP in rheumatology in 1992 before completing a PhD focusing on rheumatoid arthritis at the Walter and Eliza Hall Institute in 1996.

Geoff is currently the Chair of the Australian Medical Council’s Medical School Assessment Committee, a member of the Therapeutic Goods Administration Advisory Committee on Medicines and a past member of Pharmaceutical Benefits Advisory Committee.

Professor Helen Marshall

Helen Marshall is a public health and child health practitioner and NHMRC Fellow. She is Professor of Vaccinology in the Adelaide Medical School and Deputy Director of the Robinson Research Institute at The University of Adelaide where she leads the Vaccine and Infectious Diseases Research Group. She is also a Senior Medical Practitioner at the Women’s and Children’s Hospital and Medical Director of the Vaccinology and Immunology Research Trials Unit.  Following completion of her medical degree, she undertook a Doctorate in Medicine on vaccines in public health and a Master in Public Health degree and completed the Advanced Vaccinology Course, Pasteur Merieux Institute, France. She leads a program of research in clinical trials of investigational and licensed vaccines, epidemiology of infectious diseases and social epidemiology.  She is a member of the Australian Influenza Vaccine Committee, TGA, a former member of the Australian Technical Advisory Group on Immunisation (ATAGI), and a former member of the WHO taskforce for evaluation of maternal influenza vaccine programs.

Associate Professor Peter Richmond

Head of the Division of Paediatrics at the University of Western Australia (UWA), Consultant Immunologist & General Paediatrician at Perth Children’s Hospital (PCH) and Director of Child Health Research for the WA Child and Adolescent Health Service (CAHS) in Perth. He leads the Vaccine Trials Group based in the Wesfarmers Centre of Vaccines and Infectious Diseases (Founding Co-director) at the Telethon Kids Institute. He has led his vaccine research group in Perth attracting over $35 million in government, competitive, and industry funding that currently supports 20 FTE in research staff and postgraduate students conducting high quality epidemiological, clinical, immunological and microbiological research in neonates, children & adults with strong community support. His laboratory for assessment of humoral and cell mediated immune responses to vaccines, viral & bacterial pathogens is recognized internationally. He was previously Deputy Chairperson of the Australian Technical Advisory Group on Immunisation, has chaired international Data Safety Monitoring Boards for vaccine trials and been a member of multiple scientific vaccine advisory boards for influenza, RSV, meningococcal and pneumococcal vaccines.